Who we are

Sciena is a joint platform of the institutions of the ETH Domain.

The ETH Domain comprises the two Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich) and Lausanne (EPFL), as well as the four research institutes: the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL), the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa), and the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag). In addition, the ETH Board as strategic management and supervisory body also belongs to the ETH Domain.

The ETH Domain strives to strengthen the competitiveness of Switzerland in the long term and contributes to the development of society through excellence in teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer. It endeavours to serve as an exemplary beacon by assuming its share of responsibility for the management of urgent social challenges, the enhancement of the quality of life, and the long-term maintenance of our natural resources.

At the end of 2021, over 36,000 students and doctoral students were enrolled at the two Federal Institutes of Technology. In the same year, a total of 60 spin-offs were founded in the ETH Domain and 330 invention and 39 software registrations as well as 213 patents and 181 licences were filed.